What is the future of MRI technology in industry?

Hi everyone!
I am a new PhD student about to enter the field of MRI. After doing extensive literature review and information collection for a few months, I found myself starting to doubt the future of MRI, especially for industry. I feel very sad for this and I know this is absolutely not a good thing for a new PhD student, so I came to this website and would really appreciate anyone that could correct my thoughts.
Here are my observations:
(1) For the acquisition and sequence development part, the sequences that are routinely used in hospitals have been there for decades. New contrasts are being created in acdemia, but it seems that few of them found their roles or key applications in diagnositics. A T1 or T2 weighted image can already fullfill the needs of radiologists in most cases.
(2) For the reconstruction part, it goes without saying that the advent of ML/DL and compressed sensing greatly improved the reconstruction speed and image qualities. However, this may be the only major development of MRI reconstruction in the past few decades.
As a student who is keen to joining the industry upon graduation, I now really fear that there would be no job opportunities for me, as MRI has become a very mature technology and R&D may no longer be needed by manufacuters. How do you think of this? These are all my humble opinions as a newbie student so any opinion would be much appreciated…

1 Like

Hi there.